Award categories

1. Excellence in Business Transformation
This category recognises HR teams that have completed a successful people-focused business transformation programme that responds to a required business case that needs change.
2. Excellence in Corporate Wellness
Organisations that position wellness programmes as a strategic business opportunity and create a positive environment to empower employees to lead healthy lives will win in this category.
3. Excellence in COVID-19 Response
This category recognises outstanding strategic responses to managing the impacts of COVID-19 on the workforce. Judges will be looking for sound decision making, risk assessment, and ongoing communication with employees.
4. Excellence in Crisis Management and Recovery
This category recognises organisations that have taken the lead in the fields of crisis management, business continuity planning, and recovery. Entries that detail how the HR team has proactively identified the crisis, crafted out phases of the business continuity plan, implemented the strategy and tracked the progress will stand out – all while keeping employees motivated, engaged and safe.
5. Excellence in CSR Strategy
This category honours organisations that are inspiring role models through their impactful CSR framework that clearly outlines sustainability, stakeholder engagement and values alignment.
6. Excellence in Digital Transformation
Teams that develop a customised employee experience that meets the needs of the workforce through multiple digital platforms will be crowned winners.
7. Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion
Organisations that demonstrate continuous commitment to creating and supporting an open environment that includes cultural, gender, physically disabled and other minority groups will win.
8. Excellence in Employee Engagement
Judges will be on the lookout for robust communication channels alongside employee feedback, empowerment and enablement, which form the building blocks of programmes that foster engagement.
9. Excellence in Employer Branding
This category is on the lookout for organisations with a well-established and thoughtfully crafted employer brand that stands out in the fierce competition for top talent.
10. Excellence in HR Change Management
This award celebrates highly responsive HR teams that lead large scale organisational changes to build an agile workforce by focusing on capability building and organisational development.
11. Excellence in HR Communication Strategy
HR teams that can effectively help to recalibrate the business model by transforming the transactional relationship through the use of internal channels will walk home as award winners for this category.
12. Excellence in HR Innovation

This award honours HR teams that pave the way for their peers as they redefine and redesign their organisation in preparation for the workplace of the future.

13. Excellence in HR Team Collaboration
HR teams that have achieved exceptional results in areas such as team morale and engagement, teamwork and cohesiveness, which has led to a direct contribution to the organisation’s business strategy and its results will win.
14. Excellence in Learning and Development
Judges are looking for innovative L&D programmes that are well structured, with a proven record of achieving their talent development objectives effectively.
15. Excellence in Talent Acquisition
Judges will be looking for innovative and effective talent acquisition strategies that not only help fill vacancies but focus on long-term workforce strategy and manpower planning.
16. Excellence in Talent Management
This award honours employers who manage the professional welfare of employees throughout their full life cycle from recruitment to retirement.
17. Excellence in Total Rewards Strategy
Judges will be looking for thoughtful and cost-effective total rewards programmes that effectively weave together C&B, flexibility and employee recognition to drive business growth.
18. Excellence in Women Empowerment Strategy
Winning this award would mean organisations have consciously built a safe working space that enables female empowerment, promotion of women in key management positions and room for flexibility to accommodate womens’ needs.
19. Excellence in Workplace Culture
This award recognises HR teams that have purposefully and consciously shaped their company’s culture to provide a positive, open and adaptive environment for their employees to thrive in.
20. Excellence in Workplace Wellbeing
Workplace wellbeing programmes that have been carefully designed to ensure employees work in a safe and quality workspace with supportive colleagues and smart benefits will win in this category. This can include the use of remote or virtual settings to accommodate safe management measures during COVID-19.
21. Employer of the Year
This category is open only to companies that have entered at least three or more categories in the HR Excellence Awards. Organisations that clearly value employee welfare and deliver the best for their workforce with holistic C&B packages, inclusive environments, talent development or more are forward thinking entities that deserve to win this category.
22. HR Leader of the Year
The individual to be crowned winner of this prestigious award has played an instrumental role in leading transformational changes. More importantly, they ensure HR’s seat at top management’s table is well-deserving and heard during reviewing business plans. Additionally, judges look beyond expertise as they focus on the passion the individual possesses. They understand the strategic role of HR in partnering with the business whilst striving to continually improve policies for better business outcomes.
23. HR Manager of the Year
The individual who has demonstrated managerial excellence over the year with great leadership, communication and strategy planning to drive results and transformation will bring home this highly coveted accolade.
24. Most People-Focused CEO
The most people-focused CEO empowers employees to drive groundbreaking initiatives to propel radical business transformation.